Pancakes, Glorious Pancakes!

20130709-112618.jpg

Pancakes. Who doesn’t love a good pancake? One of life’s loveliest delicacies if you ask me. Unfortunately, not everyone can enjoy a typical buttermilk short stack. Enter Cherrybrook Kitchen. Can I tell you how much I love Cherrybrook Kitchen products? I recently made these for my youngest son as his first taste of pancakes ever. He gobbled them right up. This past weekend, we were at the lake with my extended family (16 of them I believe) and I made them for the family. Most of them ate them right up with no complaints! I don’t like to force people to eat “special” foods like gluten-free, dairy-free but we thought we’d give it a go. My dear hubby said they taste like sugar cookies! I showed him they also make a chocolate chip version and he commented that they’d probably be like chocolate chip cookies. Cherrybrook Kitchen mixes truly taste good. I’ve tried their cake mix, sugar cookie, chocolate chip cookie mixes and you just substitute milk and butter to suit your dietary needs. For instance, in the pancake recipe, I use Vanilla Almond milk instead of regular cow’s milk. It says to use vegetable oil but I substituted Coconut oil. They tasted fine. In the cookie mixes, I use dairy free (soy free if possible) margarine. Trust me if I will eat these and like them, most anyone can tolerate them and maybe even enjoy them! Use a little dairy-free butter and good ole maple syrup on top and you’ve got yourself one delicious and allergy-free breakfast!! We like a little gluten-free turkey sausage on the side too.

Leave a Reply

