Zumba – Family Style

20130709-132818.jpg

We bought a Wii from a friend recently and immediately I found fitness games I wanted to try! I went to a resale game store and bought Wii Fit Plus with a used balance board and Wii Zumba Core. It came with a belt you wear around your waist (very fashionable – see pic below).

20130709-151114.jpg

Very cute, I know. Please excuse the lovely no makeup look.

I strapped this thing on and then turned on the Wii. First you have to create a profile for yourself – name, gender, birthdate, and the best category of all…weight. Why must the Wii people do this to us?? I scrolled to find my weight and my son goes, “Mommy, you don’t weight THAT much!” Thanks kid, but I do. Stupid Wii. Then, you pick what kind of routine you want to do. I chose the low intensity warm up. Pretty simple – I earned a 5 out of 5 star ranking. I’m thinking I’m pretty coordinated. Now, I have a little bit of a dance background. Not a lot, I mean I took some jazz, tap and ballet when I was a kid and quit because I was kind of the short not so limber kid in the class. I didn’t really enjoy it at that age. I took theater dance classes in college for my major, which I loved! Still not great though. I really do love dance though and secretly wish I could be on So You Think You Can Dance. I think I was a dancer in another life. (: I took a Zumba class last summer which I thoroughly enjoyed. I miss the class aspect of it doing it at home in front of the TV though. I guess it’s kind of a mini-class when you do it with your kiddos. ANYWAYS, enough about my limited dance history.

My 6 year old wanted to have a turn next. I had to tie the Zumba belt on his tiny waist. It was pretty comical watching his moves! He sure is cute. I really like the Wii because it gets us all moving as a family and that’s always a good thing! We have a lot of fun together with it. Then, he gave it back to me and said, “Here Mommy, do this one next!” It was the high intensity Bollywood routine. Umm… I shaked and shimmied my best and we all got a kick out of it. I think it’s safe to say I will only be trying Bollywood in the comfort of my own living room. I did, much to my surprise, earn 5 out of 5 stars ranking again! Booyah! They call that ranking “Legend”. I think I’ll quit while I’m ahead for today. All in all, Zumba Core is a fun at home workout and I recommend it (if you like dancing with a computer animated instructor). (:

Leave a Reply

