Gluten-free Cracker Chicken

I used to make a breaded crispy chicken called Ritz Cracker Chicken. It was so yummy, coated in crushed Ritz crackers and drizzled with butter. Ooh, we loved it! Last night I was playing around in the kitchen, trying to figure out another way I could cook chicken for my kids who have allergies. They can’t eat fried chicken nuggets at most fast food places or restaurants because of the gluten/wheat breading. We do a lot of grilled chicken instead. However, there’s only so much grilled chicken we can eat before everyone’s saying, “Enough already!”

This is my new version I call Gluten-free Cracker Chicken. So good in fact that my eldest son (who rarely eats home cooked meals- more on that later) said, “Mom, this chicken is SO GOOD! Can I have MORE?” My heart melted because he has never asked for more of anything I have made him! “OF COURSE you can, son!” 😃😃😃 We all gobbled it up till there was none left.

First, you crush up gluten-free rice crackers. I like the Veggie flavored kind because it gives the breading more flavor.

20130711-094831.jpg

Dip cut up pieces of chicken breast or chicken tenders seasoned with salt and pepper in lightly beatened eggs, then dip in crushed cracker crumbs. Place in greased baking dish in one layer. Melt 2-3 tablespoons of dairy-free butter (or regular butter if you’re not dairy-free) and drizzle on coated chicken. Place in oven at 350 degrees. Bake 20-25 minutes or until lightly browned and cooked through. Delish!

20130711-095248.jpg
Enjoy you’re modified dairy-free, gluten-free crispy chicken nuggets!
*If you are allergic to eggs or want to add more nutrition to your chicken, use puréed veggies (squash, sweet potato) instead of eggs!

Leave a Reply

