Egg-Free Food Finds

One of my sons currently has a food sensitivity to whole eggs. He can have egg whites but not the yolk. It took me a while to find alternatives to the foods he had been eating, which were already gluten free and dairy free. I want to share with you what I did find, which he loves to eat (because there are plenty of alternative foods that he won’t eat)! I have a very picky eater.

This first one I give credit to my mother-in-law for finding: Perdue Simply Smart Gluten-Free Chicken Strips

20130922-195935.jpg

My son (and even my husband who doesn’t eat gluten-free) loves them! They’re a quick and easy meal when you have as many evening sports practices as we do and need something fast! A great alternative to fast food chicken that is not gluten-free. These are dairy-free and egg-free as well!

Next, we love Glutino Pretzels!

20130922-201612.jpg
So yummy! Gluten-free, egg-free and dairy-free as well. They come in small twists or sticks. These are easy to send in lunches or to school for a snack. I crushed them up once and breaded chicken strips with them using this recipe from a previous post: Gluten-Free Cracker Chicken
They were even better than using the rice crackers!

My last find is Ener-G Wheat-Free Crackers

20130922-202014.jpg
As you can see in the pic it is free from just about everything! Egg-free crackers were the hardest to come across. My son eats them with peanut butter or makes turkey sandwiches (like Lunchables).

Side note: Unfortunately the pretzels and crackers both contain soy. I try to avoid as much soy as possible for my 2 boys (since it’s estrogen which they don’t need). Sometimes you can’t get everything you want in alternative allergy-free foods. I do my best trying to balance our circumstances, special diet needs and picky palates. I try to limit soy-containing products and feed them natural, fresh food as often as possible. Busy lives dictate the need for quick foods sometimes though and Mommy gets worn out cooking 24/7! If you’re experiencing the same struggles, just do your best and don’t feed the “mommy guilt”! (:

Leave a Reply

