My Sugar Control Diet

I wanted to give an update on my health. I found out that I have issues with my blood sugar (among other health issues) and so 2 weeks (and a few days) ago, my Naturopath put me on a “Sugar Control Diet”. I’m supposed to be on it for the next 6 weeks. Then I’ll go for another checkup and see how my body has responded and decide where to go from there. I also have some food sensitivities, so those foods were cut out as well. Here’s the outline of my diet:

All the protein I want
All the veggies I want
Nuts and nut butters
A very small serving of fruit (half an apple or some avocado)
No grains except brown rice at dinner (my doctor said 100 grams of carbs per day)
No starches- beans, potatoes, corn
No sugar or sweeteners except Stevia
No dairy
No alcohol
Plus: no chicken, tomatoes, zucchini, lemons, red grapes, no diet sodas (waaaah!) 😂 I love me some Diet Cokes.

Whew! That is an exhausting list and very restrictive! It’s definitely the strictest diet I’ve ever been on. The one major thing that is motivating me to stick to it is that it’s for health reasons. I have no choice if I want to be healthier.

After 2 weeks, I am excited to say I haven’t felt this physically good and healthy in a LONG time! I have lost at least 5 lbs. I have been struggling to lose the last 10-15 lbs. of baby weight for 3 years and the weight is melting off on this meal plan! Woohoo! That’s another motivating factor. I’m not even halfway through, so I’m curious to see what shape I’ll be in at the end of the 6 weeks!

For the most part, it hasn’t been as difficult as I expected. I have definitely had moments of frustration though since I get tired of cooking almost every meal, and it would just be nice to have a cookie or a Pumpkin Spice Latte or the chips and salsa at a Mexican food restaurant. Or cheese. Or a glass of wine at the end of a tough day. I know it’s not forever though! I’ll update again after a while. Till then, I’m going to make my nightly ritual of a cup of hot tea!

One thought on “My Sugar Control Diet

Leave a Reply

