Paleo Pancakes

I’ve begun exploring the Paleo diet lifestyle. I have a few friends who follow the diet plan and I have gotten a few cookbooks on my Kindle recently. I think it may be a good transition/way of eating after I finish my strict Sugar Control diet. We’ve already been eating mainly gluten-free and dairy-free for my kids’ health. I have a little experience cooking the Paleo way.

I have been eating eggs for breakfast every morning for the past 4 weeks. I’m almost at a state of rebellion. I try to change them up and add things to them to make it interesting, but I’ve about had it with huevos. I downloaded some new Paleo e-books and came across a Paleo Pancakes recipe. It’s only 3 ingredients: 2 bananas, almond butter and an egg. Super simple and I can have all 3 ingredients! Yippee!

First, you put them all in a blender.

20131012-104448.jpg

Blend it up to create a smooth batter.

20131012-104545.jpg

Next, heat a little coconut oil in a skillet and pour the batter in.

20131012-104747.jpg
Repeat this until the batter is used up. The recipe yielded 4 pancakes for me, which I shared with my 3 year old son.

20131012-104854.jpg

I was amazed that they turned out surprisingly like regular pancakes! Food science is interesting to me. Whoever decided that adding these 3 ingredients together would create a pancake-like consistency- way smarter than me. They were sweet, didn’t need butter and syrup (you could top it with those or fruit if you like). I felt like I was being indulgent and getting a treat! My son cleaned his plate too. It was a much needed respite from my omelet breakfasts!

Paleo Pancakes

1 Tbsp. almond butter
2 ripe bananas
1 egg

Blend all ingredients until smooth. Heat coconut oil in griddle. Pour batter on griddle and brown each side. (Don’t turn too quickly or the pancake will fall apart.) Repeat with remaining batter.

Recipe from “Paleo for Beginners” by Sarah Sparrow

Leave a Reply

